Immigrate to Canada using Express Entry System

Express Entry Immigration system is for skilled people wishing to settle permanently in Canada based on a point system called Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS).

Express Entry Types

There are three types of immigration programs offered by IRCC (Immigration Refugees and Citizenship Canada) who fall under Express Entry:

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSW)
  • Canadian Experience Class Program (CEC)
  • Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP)

There are other provincial nominee programs (PNP) available which also make use of Express Entry Immigration System on regular bases.


Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSW)

This program focuses on people wishing to immigrate permanently to Canada bases on their out of Canada (Foreign) work experience.

Eligibility will be assessed based on 100 points grid where an individual is assessed based on 6 selection factors like age, education, work experience, English/ French language ability, availability of valid job offer, and adaptability. Out of these requirements, in order to qualify an individual must meet minimum work experience, education and language ability. The pass mark is set at 67 points.

Individuals who qualify the six selection factor pass mark of 67 can participate in Express Entry Pool. Express Entry system uses Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) scores to evaluate candidates. CRS system uses a total  score of 1200 points. This score is further divided into two broad categories of 600 points each. First set of 600 points comprise of maximum of 460-500 points for human capital factors (Age, Education, Language, and work experience), maximum of 100 points for skills transferability factors, and a maximum of 40 points for spousal factors. Whereas the other set of 600 points can be obtained from other factors like Provincial Nominee Program (PNP), arranged employment using LMIA (Labor Market Impact Assessment), or by Canadian Education Credential.

When a candidates creates profile in the IRCC (Immigration Refugees and Citizenship Canada) online system, it (the system) automatically allocates points to the candidate based on the options selected at the time of profile creation. The Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) ranks the candidate scores against all other candidates in the Express Entry Pool based on the points at the time of round of invitations draw, which is usually twice every month. At the time of draw, all top ranked candidates in the Express Entry Pool who are above or equal to the IRCC (Immigration Refugees and Citizenship Canada) announced draw score are issued Invitation to Apply (ITA).

Candidates get 60 days time after receiving the Invitation to Apply (ITA) to either submit a completed application to IRCC or decline the invitation.